Who makes the best cupcakes?

October 26, 2010 at 2:48 pm Leave a comment

I love cupcakes, I was jumping with joy when Cupcakes Bakery opened in my vicinity, Cedar N Herndon. I frequented this joint too often even for my babysitter’s sake, she had to surrender by admitting defeat….too much of a good thing, is really too much. Then comes, Sugar Shack – now this place is right next street to my home! Heaven X 2!

With glee, I visited both over and over again. Now I can do a taste comparison. Both places have no problems in consistency in taste and quality of products made.

Overall look of the cupcakes, in terms of cupcake liners used, appeal of the cupcake and the whole box presentation, hands down goes to Sugar Shack. The way the cupcake rises to a plump top is simply chic looking. The cupcake liners are good quality and “not cheap looking”-therefore this qualifies it as a gourmet looking cupcake, also the frosting is piped on professionally and has height to it. But mind you, gravity works against these high toppers, many a times, my beautiful frosting tops had kissed the ground. Overall presentation of cupcake: Sugar Shack

My favorite cupcake is the Carrot Cupcake at Sugar Shack.
I will still stand by my past review of this cupcake at Sugar Shack: Carrot cupcake with cream cheese frosting with chopped walnuts. Now, this is to die for, carrot cupcake, moist, not overpowering in spices, not too sweet and I see shredded carrots! This is my favorite so far! Better than the ones at Cupcake Bakery and the Market (bakery) at Herndon and West. And the frosting is so fluffy and creamy – it melts in my mouth. Yummylicious!

My favorite cupcake at Cupcakes Bakery is the German Chocolate, I love coconut, it has the combination of salty and sweet – one bite was never enough, the cake is moist and the topping is divine!

Cupcakes Bakery store front wise is not very appealing, Sugar Shack spent some dough making it wide open and inviting. Though the part of the yogurt stations did not cross my mind. Right now the race is neck to neck. I want both places to succeed because we need sweet places like such for Fresno.

 At least – I can bring my International and Bay area relatives there, to show off my Fresno! Crave something sweet? Eat A Cupcake!

P/S Sugar Shack cupcakes is so pretty and I had to put it on my cupcake metal frame holder.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

A fishy cake-large mouth bass Finally, presenting the wide mouth bass…

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Archives