My Curry Laksa

April 23, 2009 at 5:25 pm Leave a comment

Curry Laksa is one of my well-liked dishes amongs my friends and family. I am tooting my own horn here, “It’s better than my mom’s version!” The secret is in the blend of spices and also, chicken broth! Hands down, my version beats the one served at Banana Leaf restaurant, Milpitas, CA. My aunt (food lover and critic) and uncle voted mine the best so far!

My curry laksa has a rich coconut cream infused with chicken broth, a fragrant blend of spices (ground tumeric, chili powder, curry powder, ground dried shrimp, garlic, shallots, lemongrass, lime leaves). Bring the broth to a boil…and serve on to a bowl of yellow mee (noodle), semi-cooked bean sprouts, large prawns, cilantro, sliced hard boiled egg,  tau foo pok (deep fried spongy tofu) and shredded chicken (best to use store bought rotisseire chicken as it is more flavorful). The toppings are interchangeable.  Some use fishballs, blood cockles…endless. The key here is making the best broth!

Curry Laksa

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The above picture is courtesy of RasaMalaysia.com which promotes Malaysian cuisine and the site owner takes great pictures!
I will post my version soon….hopefully, with my new camera!

Entry filed under: Food. Tags: , , , .

Mangosteen @ Fresno Chaffee Zoo

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Archives


