Pumpkin Roll with Cream Cheese Frosting

March 26, 2010 at 1:38 pm Leave a comment

Last year, I tried making my first Pumpkin Roll and was unsuccessful. There was no rolling on the cake part, just splat. I vowed not to try again.

Well, hold and behold, my mom craved something sweet and I found one big can of Libby’s Pumpkin Puree in my packed pantry. Reminder to self: Got to clear pantry before Thanksgiving.

 This ROLL failure stuck out like a sore thumb. I thought I could get away from embarrassing myself again. I researched on the web through baking blogs, comments left behind and also the manufacturer’s site, Libby’s. I stepped up to the challenge and made this.

I watched this video and learned some new tricks to prevent a FAILURE from happening. Click on the link: http://www.verybestbaking.com/advice/baking101/standalone/pumpkin_roll.aspx 

3 THINGS I LEARNED FROM THIS BAKING EXPERIENCE, thanks to the video.

Do not overbake the thin layer of cake.

Make sure to use the correct size of pan, according to recipe. Do not stray. I improvised with what I had which was a smaller baking pan I found in my cubby the last time. The cake layer was too thick to roll.

If you follow the above first 2 rule, rolling the large layer of cake – should be easier and more flexible without crumbling. Yeah , I conquered the ROLL!

 

Entry filed under: Food, Sweets. Tags: , , .

Riding high What’s new, cupcake?

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Archives


