Chocolate Overdose Weekend

April 19, 2010 at 7:30 pm Leave a comment

This weekend, I decided to make a different kind of cake, not out of the box but from scratch. I planned in my mind on how to execute. With that, I have to care for my 2.5 year old son and my 2 months old baby girl. I was itching to bake. I squeezed the baking in between available time slots.

I made the Chocolate Overdose Cake – recipe from Beantown Baker.

The recipe called for Dutch processed cocoa powder – 2 tbsps. I hunted for it at the major grocery stores. Nothing. So I gave up. So I switched the top layer chocolate cake to Pioneer Woman’s best chocolate cake ever. It was moist and what I wanted it to be. Note of caution, not to pour all the batter for the top layer, use 3/4 of it, to fit 9″ round pan. Pioneer Woman’s recipe is meant for a sheet cake pan.

I made a chocolate mousse for the first time, with my trusty KitchenAid mixer. In the past, the heavy cream never peaked with my handheld beater (electric).

 

The bottom layer is a brownie base, topped with light chocolate mousse and finally a moist chocolate cake. The whole cake is covered  with Ganache and decorated with chocolate buttercream pipings for borders top and bottom. The cake is then topped with milk chocolate dipped strawberries. When I showed it to my spouse, he asked how many calories in there? I dunno but I hope whoever receives it – enjoys it.

I gave this sinful cake to my cousin’s teacher who was offered a Vice Principal position at another school. She was thrilled.

Then I have these extra HUGE berries, so I dipped them in Wilton purple candy melts. I hated the texture of the melted chocolate – it was too thick in texture. I prefer Sephra foundue chocolate chips. Light and it does not weigh the berries down. This yummy dessert went to Ms. Merlot, my other cousin’s teacher.

Baking Rating: alot of work, prep work, cleaning and at the end of the day, legs were sore.

Taste Rating: pretty darn good

Looks Rating: pretty darn good

Will I make this again? Maybe for someone who is a choco-holic!

Entry filed under: Food, Projects, Sweets. Tags: , , , , .

Granville 2010 Family Reunion Cupcake Bakery, Fresno, CA

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Archives


