Red Velvet Hi Hats cupcakes

May 13, 2010 at 9:11 am Leave a comment

I baked 24 cupcakes from a Duncan Hines Red Velvet cake mix as I was in a hurry last night. I must say I can fall back on Duncan Hines for its yummy Red Velvet. I made the frosting to go on top these cupcakes. Normally for Hi Hats, many use the buttercream meringue frosting. I did not go that route because of time contraint.

For cream cheese frosting
8oz cream cheese, room temperature
1 cup (2 sticks) butter, room temperature
1 tsp peppermint extract
3 3/4 cups powdered sugar, sifted

For chocolate coating*
2 cups semisweet chocolate chips (I used 1/2 milk chocolate and 1/2 semi-sweet chocolate)
3 tbsp canola or vegetable oil (I used vegetable oil)

or you can use Wilton milk chocolate fondue chips or Sephra dark chocolate fondue chips (my fave brand for chocolate dipping)

I made sure the frosting on the cupcakes were chilled enough before I attempt coating them. Had no problem at all.

Taste: 10/10
I will make this again. So easy peasy.

Entry filed under: Sweets. Tags: .

Strawberry mousse cake Butterfly cupcake adornment

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Archives