Pies, cupcakes and cookies

June 7, 2010 at 2:04 pm Leave a comment

2 fresh Bing cherry pies

Last weekend, I pitted 3 pounds of black Bing cherries, at its sweetest, and made 2 cherry pies ala lattice style. I was always afraid of making pies, fearing the bottom crust won’t bake fully. To save time and energy, I bought 1 pie crust (came with 2 shells) from Marie Callendars and a Pilsbury pie crust (2 round roll-out pie crust).  Since the cherries were so sweet, I did not add sugar, just lemon juice and cornstarch (to bind the cherries and its juices). I filled the pie crusts to its rim with bountiful cherries, and made a lattice style top crust. A thicker strips and a thinner strip version.

Verdict: Taste 8/10   Presentation 8/10

Will I make this again for myself? I said no. Because I am not a fruit pie fan, which is wrong, as I will be missing out on alot of fresh fruits this summer. If someone in the family wants to eat fruit pies, then I will make them.

Then I made some pandan cupcakes with chocolate buttercream frosting, for a surprise birthday gift. On top of that, I made button mushroom shaped butter cookies. These beauties were fun to make and taste amazing with a cup of tea and coffee. Melts in your mouth, I suggest to take small bites to savor them.

Butterfly cupcakes-pandan with choc buttercream

Button mushroom shortbread cookie

Idea courtesy of Bakeitpretty.com

Entry filed under: Miscellaneous. Tags: , , .

Chocolate mousse cake on fire Last of the Sweet Strawberries

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Archives


