Frosting sheets and potato based wafer papers

August 9, 2010 at 10:46 am Leave a comment

 
Close up on the edible wafer paper printout

  

Close up on the frosting sheet printout

Frosting sheets & wafer papers

 

I tried to improve on the look of the above cake, the carving of the intricate logos of Louis Vuitton takes time, efforts and a very stready hand. Then I read a post by http://www.flickr.com/photos/toni-italy/4389830012/, hers was a work of art, nice details. She used wafer paper.

I went straight to www.etsy.com and looked around, one seller had to cancel on my order due to her printer giving her problems. 

Fate brought me to Bill, nice and delivered as promised and more…he was friendly, informative and most of all, the products above speak for themselves. He had a listing on etsy too. I was very happy with the prints, closest it can get to a regular paper print job with my HP Laser Jet, I cannot wait to put them on my cakes. That will happen on 8.21.2010! 

If you need to print frosting sheets (7.5 inches by 10 inches) or on potato based wafer paper (which Bill used) as it is not likely to tear easily like rice paper.Good piece of info here. 

Bill sells his goods over the Internet thru this link, http://www.helpakidsmile.com, a portion of his sales go to a great cause, children with cleft lip or palate. 

Tips for frosting sheets and wafer paper 

1. Get the highest quality print on the images. I searched the web for LV wallpaper. Had great luck with some nice prints. 

2. Estimate your cake surface that you need to cover. You can economize on the frosting sheets and not waste them. 

3. Order them in advance. They keep well in cool and dark places, I put mine in the closet! 

4. I used to think frosting sheets are awful looking on cakes, I will try my best to beat my own perception of them. Wait and see for the results. 

P/S Check out Bill’s services, http://www.helpakidsmile.com. You won’t be disappointed. Prompt and fast shipper, I ordered mine 8/4 and received them on Sat 8/6. That is priority mail!

Entry filed under: Product Review.

A good find Louis Vuitton cake bag

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Archives


