Louis Vuitton cake bag

August 21, 2010 at 5:33 pm 2 comments

I made this Louis Vuitton cake, I searched for ideas from the web, mostly flickr.com. Some are willing to post their achievements in photos with no instructions, some with held back certain information. So after 2 weeks of planning, a week to draft the parts to be cut out in gumpaste/fondant. I suggest to anyone who wants to make fondant pieces, to use Duff white buttercream fondant with Wilton gumpaste. Wonderful texture, does not dry out (make sure to store in air tight container when not using) and it smells like buttercream & taste like tootsie roll. I always measure when mixing fondant and gumpaste…50/50.

I followed Planet Cake chocolate mud cake and the white chocolate mud cake recipes. Easy to make, dense cake, not dry at all and aromatic from the coffee and chocolate chips used. I stacked the cake using plastic hollow dowels by Wilton, easy to cut in portions – no struggle compared to the wooden dowels.

I used frosting sheets for the bottom layer and the LV Ursula handbag – I used wafer paper. Initially, the frosting sheets were cumbersome, easily torn and difficult to remove from its backing. I had to stick in freezer for only 20 seconds. Then it became hard and easy to come off. With frosting sheets, you have to work fast, precise and carefully. The wafer paper were easier to manipulate. I love both medium, cannot wait to use it for my son’s birthday cake.

Entry filed under: Family.

Frosting sheets and potato based wafer papers Spiderman 3D bust cake

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Charisse  |  November 8, 2011 at 3:36 pm

    Where do you get the frosting sheets? Did you print it yourself? I want to order some of those too.

    Reply
    • 2. doreent88  |  November 8, 2011 at 4:22 pm

      I got mine from different sources, like etsy.com. I provided the image of 300 dpi for sharper image print. For me, it less hassle to buy and maintain the printer as they are complaints of plugged up ink cartridges. One needs to clean it constantly. Average full size page runs between 8 to 10 dollars.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Archives


