I almost gave up!

September 22, 2010 at 2:08 pm Leave a comment

I have one of these moments, where I just sighed so much, yammering by myself trying to finish this swimming pool cake for a friend of mine, Ike, who turns 90, an avid swimmer. Many things were not going as planned. I meant to bake a half sheet cake (11×15), but pulled out a quarter sheet cake (9×12). Then it dawned on me, when I double checked on the cake, it looked too small to be half sheet, so I had to whip up more cake to stack, iced, re-carve the pool, re-tile the pool….what a nightmare! Now I know why skilled workers charged so much to re-tile kitchen, bathroom and laundry room. I made 3 attempts to make tiles for the pool. All failed, finally, I have to cut each tile! I did not like how the sides of the cake look, meant to do waves, in 2 different tones. Then, ran out of buttercream frosting, biting my tongue here. Whipped more up in wee hours of the morning, while holding my baby girl, who decided not to go back to sleep and want to grab everything in reach, frosting was too runny.

What else can go wrong! This broke me into half, I could go loco now, scream and yell or bite my tongue again, and chuck it as an awful experience that will never repeats itself. I went home to pick up the cake during lunch hour, the cake was sitting at a awkward position, tipped over and slide downward. My heart stopped. I examined the cake, am grateful that I had to just repair the flag banner with a nose plier and wire cutter.

Entry filed under: Projects.

Mike Tompkins-Internet sensation Geisha 3D torso cake

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Archives


