Geisha 3D torso cake

October 4, 2010 at 12:27 pm Leave a comment

Geisha torso cake for Mariah

Ohayo, I am making the above for a little girl whom I know since 2003. Mariah celebrate her 16th birthday this weekend. I made three 12 inch rounds of mud cake and one 10 inch for the shoulders. This is bigger than Spiderman bust cake which I did last month. I had to empty my fridge – leaving the bins behind. I made all the flowers (peonies, my version of lotus flower, rose, calla lillies) from fondant for her headpiece, strung non-edible beads with small fondant flowers and hand made a ancient replica of Japanese antique hairpiece from fondant by Wilton.

I covered her torso with red Duff fondant and made leaf shaped indents to give texture to the fabric fondant. Then I painted the indentations with gold glaze. I enjoyed making this cake. Expanded my creativity and I am always looking for ways to make it better.

Entry filed under: Projects. Tags: .

I almost gave up! Monkey shower cake

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Archives


