Victoria Rose Cottage, Clovis

March 28, 2011 at 12:37 am Leave a comment

I visited this establishment about 9 years ago for my good friend’s baby shower. I then decided to revisit the Victoria Rose Cottage in Clovis with my good friend but now with her 9 year old daughter alongwith my two cousins aged 9 and 13. It is advisable to make reservations because they tend to have gatherings for birthday parties to visiting tourists in busloads. We met for brunch on a Saturday. The ambience is cosy with an old English charm. The girls were all excited and so were we.

We were offered lemonade or ice tea. The menu had a good selection of ala carte to a set menu from light to heavy.  I ordered the Afternoon Tea, my good friend, Nancy, had the chicken & mushroom crepe with a creamy sauce. As for the three young ladies, they each had the Young Royal Tea.  My Afternoon Tea came with my choice of any tea, which I picked the Chocolate Mint, at first sip, I did not taste the mint – just the bitterness of chocolate (without sugar or milk in my tea) but then the cool minty feel hit you at the back of your tongue, MARVELOUS! I loved their warm fresh baked scone, which came with Devonshire Cream, Lemon Curd & Raspberry Preserves. I sampled all three. They were very good accompaninent to the wonderful fluffy soft scone. Then came my petite salad. It was more like a medium salad with a good mix of European style salad drizzled my a tangy vinaigrette dressing. My finger sandwiches and hot savories arrived in two plates, each item was different in taste and I fell in love with the warm Danish Havarti cheese finger sandwich. The cheese was creamy and not  overpowering. My Afternoon Tea came with a lovely dessert to wrap up my wonderful experience at the Victoria Rose. Fruit compote at the bottom  & piled on top is the creamiest custard ever!

Ratings: Full Love and Kisses

http://www.victoriarosefinedining.com

Entry filed under: Places. Tags: .

Humanity needs us Will & Kate 2011

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Archives


