Samos Kitchen, Fresno

June 29, 2011 at 3:56 pm Leave a comment

Spicy Seafood Tofu soup

Bibimbap
Bibimbap

I revisited Samos Kitchen for the second time since 2006. As I recalled, it has never changed in terms of the ambience and the layout of the restaurant. The owner and staff are very friendly and approachable. After watching Andrew Zimmern – from Bizzare Foods and Alton Brown’s recommendation of the dish Bibimbap, I was enticed to revisit Korean cuisine again. My first experience was not memorable.

I went last Saturday at around 1 pm. It was quiet. Service was fast. We ordered spicy BBQ chicken, Seafood soup (menu indicates it comes with seafood, pork, beef and tofu), Bibimbap, fried chicken wings, the bill came to $60 (with 2 sodas, one extra radish soup on the side). There were 3 adults.

The food was not bad. The dishes are overpriced and I felt shortchanged. My BEEF was that the Seafood soup should be renamed Tofu soup…I did not see a shred of seafood…where are the shrimps, squid, perhaps fish, NADA, NONE, ZERO! All I fished out was a few strands of beef and tons of tofu. I did indicate to our server not to put pork in our soup. The soup looked bubbling hot and appetizing, but it tasted bland, a hint of heat and that is it!

Now, I know Bibimbap is not my thing. It was dry – it was suggested by the owner that I mix it well, and hated the sweet red sauce it came with. I missed the beef, it was good but barely there.
We barely touched the fried chicken wings. Our server was young, nice, but not so informed about Korean cuisine.

Bibimbap (Korean pronunciation: [pibimbap][1]) is a signature Korean dish. The word literally means “mixed meal.” Bibimbap is served as a bowl of warm white rice topped with namul (sautéed and seasoned vegetables) and gochujang (chili pepper paste). A raw or fried egg and sliced meat (usually beef) are common additions. The ingredients are stirred together thoroughly just before eating.[2] It can be served either cold or hot. – according to wikipedia.

I still like to explore Korean cuisine, but where? My experience at Samos, is based solely on my taste buds, my years of experience working in the hotel industry in Singapore and that I am a foodie…love love love food of all kinds.

Samos Kitchen
345 E Shaw Ave
Fresno, CA

Entry filed under: Product Review.

Edible Picture Cookie Frame Wilton Sugar Sheets-new

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Archives


