The Westersund Wedding Cake

October 3, 2011 at 10:45 am Leave a comment

 


Photo by Carli Morgan Photography


Photo by Carli Morgan Photography

The Westersund wedding cake is chocolate mud cake layered with ganache covered with buttercream, followed by champagne tinted fondant. The bottom tier is 14″ round 6″ height, middle tier is 10″ round 8″ height, lastly the top tier is 6″ round dummy tier with fondant decorations and rhinestones belt – for bride to keep.

Things I learned from this cake:-

1. Wedding cake pedestal – a must for wedding cakes! I bought on Ebay for $90, a 20 inches round aluminium. The pedestal gives the cake extra height and a majestic feel to it. It is a good investment.

2. The Mat by Sweet Wise – another tool I found very useful, for the first time my fondant covered middle tier looked immaculate. The Mat is food safe vinyl mat which is an excellent tool for rolling out fondant to cover cakes, if you are like, who keep wishing for fondant sheeter. The Mat costs $19 on Amazon.com

Everyone raves about how good Satin Ice-endorsed by celebrity cake bakers. I do not agree. I used it once long time ago, here is my old post. https://xoxodesigns.wordpress.com/2009/02/14/amore/

I still hate using it. It has a indecisive texture to it. When I roll it out to cover my bottom tier, cracks appeared, luckily the bottom tier was designed with ruffles. I used Satin Ice to make roses, comparing to my normal 50 wilton 50 duff fondant combo, the petals on Satin Ice roses cracked easily. It still smells funny to me.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Petal Crafts – Glendale, California Dora the Explorer

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Archives


